Beware of GEEKSWAT and its Fake Tech Scam at 855-883-9471

We accepts submissions from others who suspect their contact forms or emails were targeted. We also list people who have either called or emailed our design studio pretending to be interested in hiring us. In most cases it came from competitors or marketeers whose motive is spam. Post your evidence if you want to report spam or phishing. Contact us and send more info to build a case.
Forum rules
ATTENTION: Some of the people cited here may not be able to return emails or call back because they are not polite, are away on vacations, sick, or past away.

We will not remove anybody's post and/or anybody's name unless a $25.00 administrative fee is paid to AVNW, and evidence that refutes this information has been submitted to our satisfaction.

A name in the subject title next to an (S) means 'suspected' while a name next to a (C) means 'confirmed'.

Beware of GEEKSWAT and its Fake Tech Scam at 855-883-9471

Postby admin » Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:29 am

The people answering calls at (855) 883-9471 and who reportedly are using "GEEKSWAT" as a company name are conducting a serious scam on the web which should be monitored by all the network authorities.

They go under the company 'Geekswat Solutions', a fake computer repair service in Ocilla, Georgia, USA, with an apparent fake address. However, it's more probable that they are GEEKSWAT SOLUTIONS PVT LTD, a software company in Delhi, India. Address: OFFICE NO 106, PLOT NO 45-46 ,BALAJI COMPLEX,WEST GURU ANGAD NAGAR, LAXMINAGAR, INDIA-, Mohan Park, New Delhi, 110092, India.

Whether they are GEEKSWAT from India or not, it's not confirmed as of yet.

These scammers have developed a few websites providing free content such as a movies on demand for people to watch, so that when someone clicks on a search box or a play button in one of those movie players, a window pop-up comes onscreen taking over the browser and alerting the user of a fake virus threat in one's computer and how to deal with it before "they", for security reasons, do something to one's computer.

In this popup window there will be 'help' instructions to call GEEKSWAT at (855) 883-9471. Once you call, a person or persons with Indian accent respond and tell you what you need to do. What they will give you instead is instructions so that you yield your computer to their control. Windows users will be first asked to press the windows key + R. Then ask you to type iexplorer http://www.help.com, etc, etc.

DON'T CALL THIS PHONE NUMBER. It's exactly what the wanted. They are using a method of browser hijacking called "scareware" and if you accept their "help" your computer will be seriously compromised and exposed without your knowledge.

What one should do to close these tricky popups is very simple: press and hold Ctrl + Alt + Delete. This calls the Windows Task Manager. Click on the "Applications" tab. You should see the list of applications running on your computer. Select your browser. Make a right click with mouse. Select 'End Process" from the menu. This should close your browser and the alert popup.

If you restart your browser make sure to quickly close any windows before they fully load to your computer.

As you can see in the illustration above, this sort of scare tactic is not uncommon. In this case below, the phone number is different

This message was hidden, please register or login to see message!
The AVNW Support Team

If there is a false accusation made against you, then remove this fake report.

Shopping for a new website? See our design deals.

How much is your website worth? Get a free estimate.

And, if our post has provided you with great information, there are a few ways you can show your appreciation:
  1. Like us on Facebook
  2. Post a review.- Posting a good review about this site could help us provide improved support.

Thank You!
User avatar
Site Admin
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:18 pm
Location: New York City

Return to Job Offer Hoax & Spam Emails

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests